Hard To Forget

Hard To Forget

At the start of this new year I find myself looking back to our summer vacation in the southeast.  I had some business to take care of so we turned the trip into a business/vacation that led us through four states ending in Miami!

While staying in North Carolina (where we once lived) my wife and youngest daughter kept commenting on how green everything was.  My daughter, who was basically raised in the desert, also enjoyed being able to go outdoors in the summer- something that is really uncomfortable to do when you live in a desert!  But it was more than that.  The people were extremely warm and friendly, temps would cool down in the evening so we were able to sit outside on the porch and talk.  Best of all, the fireflies were out and my daughter got a kick out of trying to catch them.

It reminded me of my childhood and the things I enjoyed growing up.  I then realized I missed them.  wp-image-1096652229jpg.jpeg

For the rest of the journey my wife and I discussed how much we enjoyed being back in “familiar” territory.  We both grew up in the northeast swimming and frequently visiting the Atlantic ocean.  It had been years since I swam in the ocean.  We visit California often, but the water, to me, is not amenable for swimming, too cold.  The first thing we did when we arrived in Miami was hit the beach! After nearly 25 minutes of searching for an AFFORDABLE parking spot we were able to find a cheap spot not far from the beach in North Miami.  Parking in Miami is a story in itself!

At the beach I tentatively dipped my toes in the water and before I knew it was totally immersed up to my neck!  Clearly, I have missed it.  The memories that started in NC soon came flooding back and by the time I got out of the water I was thinking of  ways to move back east.  The southeast in particular.  Memories, especially good ones, are powerful.

screenshot_20170119-0942441

On our way back to the desert my wife and I talked about the possibility of relocating back east.  We were talking about the pros and cons of such a move and decided to continue our research on what it would take to make it a reality.  To be continued.

Leave a comment